Home |  Contact Us |  Site Map   

SUDHA All India Inter School Crossword Championship 2013-14

With the year 2013 being declared as the “Year of the Crossword”, as crossword puzzles complete a century, the CBSE board organised an All India Inter School Crossword Championship for the first time ever.

The Board collaborated with Sudha Dairy in organising this event, which was mentored by EXTRA-C, a civil society initiative for extra-curricular development.

The Sudha AIISCC is a written crossword solving competition for students of Grades 8-12 and was conducted in two rounds. The finalists of the City Round qualify for the National Finale Round to be held in Delhi in December.

The Bangalore City Round was held at National Public School, Koramangala on 23rd November, 2013. Many schools participated in this prestigious competition.

National Public School, Indiranagar emerged winners of the City Round, thus qualifying for the National Finale Round. They were awarded trophies and certificates by the school principal, Ms Sudha Balan. The first runner-up team of National Public School, HSR was also presented trophies and certificates. All other contestants were given participating certificates.

Ms Sudha Balan, Principal NPS, KRM expressed her pleasure at hosting this pioneering event and congratulated all the teams for their brilliant performance.

DATE: 29th and 30th of October
Venue: Amrita Vidyapeetham
Name Grade Place
Shivali Jain 10 C 1st place – 6,000 rupees cheque
Name Grade Place
Lakshmi R 11 B 1st place – 10,000 rupees cheque
Sai Shravani B 11 B
Aditi T 11 B
Math Olympiad
Name Grade Place
Shrigyan B 9 A 1st place – 6,000 rupees cheque
Ameya D 10 A 2nd place – 4,500 rupees cheque
Darshan H 10 C 3rd place – 3,000 rupees cheque
Science Olympiad
Name Grade Place
Ameya D 10 A 1st place – 6,000 rupees cheque
Shrigyan B 9 A 2nd place – 4,500 rupees cheque
Nandini G and Darshan H 9 C and 10 C 3rd place – 3,000 rupees cheque
Treasure Hunt
Name Grade Place
Aditya S 8 A 2nd place – 8,000 rupees cheques
Tejas B 8 D
Vyom M 8 D
Sireesh K 8 B
Senior Quiz
Name Grade Place
Vikram S 9 A 1st place – 10,000 rupees cheque
Soumabho D 9 C
Shreyas K 9 B
Junior quiz
Name Grade Place
Aamir A 8 C 3rd place – 6,000 rupees cheque
Prithika SN 8 B
Dhwani R 8 B
Mock tail
Name Grade Place
Tanya M 10 B 2nd place – 6,000 rupees cheque
Priyank B 11 A
Sandeep P 11 A

Winners of SEARCC 2013

The International Schools’ Software Competition organised by the South East Asian Regional Computer Confederation was held in Colombo, Sri Lanka on 27 October, 2013. Seven Teams from five countries, including Australia and Taiwan, participated in this prestigious programming competition. Having come second at the national level held in Chennai, the team from National Public School, Koramangala, comprising Pratik Ramesh, Shivam Gupta and Vijetha Mohan represented India in Colombo, Sri Lanka, and bagged the third position.

National Public School-Koramangala Debate at the Battle of Ideas, London

The Battle of Ideas Festival at the Barbican, London once again played host to the International Final of the Debating Matters Competition. The winners of Debating Matters India year 5, National Public School Koramangala from Bangalore, took on the 2012-13 UK National Champions, Withington Girls’ School from Manchester, in a gripping final that saw the audience cheering and laughing in equal measure. It was a stormy debate on, “Mega cities are bad for a developing world”. The NPS team was assigned to be against the topic. The Withington Girls’ School bagged the winners’ title while National Public School – Koramangala came a close second.

The journey began by clearing the On Line Elimination Test, followed by winning the Regional Round held at Chennai. The mega event, The National Finals, the final stage of the Debating Matters India competition was held on 19th & 20th January 2013 in Delhi where NPS Kormangala was crowned as the winners. This entitled them to participate at the Battle of Ideas, London, organized by Institute of Ideas co- partnered by the British Council.

The team that went to London included Nikhil Amarnath, Ilhaam Ashraf, Avantika Shenoy, Anjani P B, Sanjay P, Pratik K Ramesh along with their teacher –Poornima Shekhar. While in London, they were taken on a tour of the Parliament by Lord Diljit Rana. They also enjoyed a tour of St Paul’s Cathedral courtesy Grange Hotels and went around London sight-seeing and wearing themselves out before the long flight home.

Reflecting on Team India’s experience of Debating Matters, Nikhil Amarnath said:
“In any other competition in India we wouldn’t be taken nearly as seriously as we are in Debating Matters. The way the judges put you under pressure shows they’re really taking school students’ ideas seriously”.

Name Grade Place
Shreya Jain 11 B 1
Sahil M Mishra 11 B 1
MehulMalhotra 11 B 1
RakaDey 11 B 1
RohanJaitley 11 B 1
Karan Hasija 11A 1
Name Grade Place
Nikhil Amaranth 12 A 2
Sanjay Pitchai 12 A 2
Name Grade Place
R. Lakshmi 11A 1
Name Grade Place
Sharbani Sharma 11A 2
Name Place
DivyaDevraaj 2
SandeepPillai 2
Sunaina. P 2
ShravaniBhima 2
Ramya. J 2
SomduttaUkil 2
Name Grade Place
Prateek K Ramesh 12 A 1
Mayank Sharma 12 A 1
Name Grade Place
Sanjana Sanjay 9A 1
ShravaniPatil 9B 1
Rahul Bhattacharya 8C 1
Nikhil T Idiculla 9B 1
AkashSahakundu 9B 1
Melvin Mathews 9A 1
Elizabeth Paul 9A 1
Anugraha Krishnan 8D 1
ParidhiKapur 9A 1
AatreyeeDasgupta 9A 1
Name Grade Place
KaarinKhandelwal 10 B 2

VIJAYA BANK – Hindi Singing Competition

On 24th June 2013, an interschool Hindi singing competition was organized by Vijaya Bank. There were 62 participants from 31 schools. Nishanth Panicker bagged the 1st place, winning a cash prize of Rs.2000. Sneha Majumdar was the 1st runner-up winning a gift voucher from Sapna Book house worth Rs.500.

CASCADER OF THE YEAR (Debate) – Keerti Praada Balaaji (10)
Name Grade Place
Ankit S 10 A 1
Rajaram 10 B 1
Name Grade Place
Navya S 10 A 1
AbhishekSipani 10 B 1
Keerthi Prada Balaaji 10 A 1
Name Grade Place
Navya Sharad 10 A 2
Name Grade Place
Nishant Panicker 10 B 2
Sneha M 10 B 2
Ahalya N 10 C 2
Keerti Praada Balajee 10 B 2
Niveditha Kannan 10 C 2
Priya R 9 B 2
Melvin M 9 A 2
Seemran P 9 A 2
Name Grade Place
Maahin Mundra 10 3
Nishant P 10 B 2
Sneha M 10 B 2
Ahalya N 10 C 2
Keertiprada 10 B 2
Nivedita K 10 C 2
Priya 9 B 2
Melvin 9 A 2
Seemran 9 A 2
Name Grade Place
Baani 10 A 1
Meghana K 10 A 1
Mahek Pariwal 10 C 1
Aditya G 10 C 2
Vignesh 10 A 2
Abhishek Sipani 10 B 2
Name Grade Place
Baani 10 A 1
Mahek Pariwal 10 C 1
Meghana. K 10 A 1
Aditya G 10 C 2
Vignesh 10 A 2
Abhishek Sipani 10 A 2
Visvesvaraya Industrial & Technological Museum
Sub : Vignan Utsav : 48th Anniversary Celebrations of VIT Museum
Name Grade Place
Ameya Daigavane 10 A 1
Darshan Hegde 10 C 1
Commerce Fest
Name Grade Place
Raka De 11 B 3
Shreya Jain 11 B 3
Prathamesh A Degwekar 11 B 3
Proneet Dutt 11 B 3
© Copyright . NPS